In the territory of the Algarve, we find 73 grape varieties suitable for the production of Wines of the Algarve Region. Of these, 47 are national grape varieties, and 26 are foreign grape varieties. The Algarve also boasts, among the national grape varieties, 1 indigenous variety: Negra Mole. It is also worth highlighting 5 grape varieties considered traditional, given their widespread distribution throughout the territory and frequent use.

Indigenous Grape Variety


The Indigenous Grape Variety of the Algarve Region

The Negra Mole grape variety is the second oldest Portuguese grape variety, considered the quintessential Algarvian grape. In the 1980s, Negra Mole represented 75% of the region's vineyards. Currently, there are some historic vineyards from that period and earlier, mostly located on sandy soils. Its clusters have a medium size, and the berries are large, with a non-uniform color ranging from dark blue to pinkish. It is a late-ripening variety and resistant to drought. It typically produces wines with an open color range (from rosé to light ruby), with a pleasant aromatic profile. It is also suitable for the production of fortified wines.

Traditional grape varieties

Crato Branco

Traditional White Grape Variety

The Síria grape variety, known in the Algarve as Crato Branco, is a grape variety also found in the Alentejo and Beira Interior regions. The cluster usually has a medium size, with berries also of medium size and a green-yellowish color. Late-ripening, it adapts well to a warm, moderate climate with little precipitation. It produces young and fruity wines.


Traditional White Grape Variety

The Arinto grape variety is a national grape variety that has always been present in the Algarve region. Its cluster is large and compact. The berries are small and have a greenish-yellow color. It produces wines with high natural acidity, which gives them good aging potential. It is a very versatile variety, serving as a base for sparkling wines, young white wines, with or without wood aging, and also complementing blend wines.


Traditional White Grape Variety

The Moscatel grape variety, also known as Moscatel-Graúdo, is one of the oldest grape varieties in the national territory. It is primarily used for the production of single-varietal wines, both still and fortified. Its clusters are medium-sized and compact, with rounded berries of greenish-yellow color. It yields wines with intense flavor, good acidity, and some residual sugar.


Traditional Red Grape Variety

The Castelão grape variety has a significant presence south of the Tejo River. It was introduced to the Algarve in the 1950s. This is a very versatile variety, capable of adapting to very distinct conditions. It has medium-sized clusters, rounded berries with a dark blue-black color. It yields wines with intense fruity aroma, well-structured, and full-bodied. It has a balanced natural acidity and rounded tannins.


Traditional Red Grape Variety

The Trincadeira grape variety is a red grape variety that finds fertile ground for its dispersion in the Algarve. It has medium-sized clusters, and its berries are also medium-sized, with a dark blue-black coloration. It produces wines of excellent quality, suitable for aging.


  • Alicante-Branco
  • Alvarinho
  • Antão Vaz
  • Bical
  • Códega do Larinho
  • Diagalves
  • Encruzado
  • Fernão Pires/Maria Gomes
  • Gouveio
  • Larião
  • Malvasia Fina
  • Malvasia Rei
  • Manteúdo
  • Moscatel Galego Branco
  • Mourisco-Branco
  • Perrum
  • Rabo-de-Ovelha
  • Sercial
  • Tália
  • Tamarez/Trincadeira-das-Pratas
  • Terrantez
  • Verdelho
  • Viosinho


  • Alfrocheiro
  • Baga
  • Bastardo
  • Corropio
  • Manteúdo-Preto
  • Monvedro
  • Moreto
  • Moscatel Galego Roxo
  • Moscatel Galego Tinto
  • Péxem
  • Vinhão/Sousão
  • Tinta Barroca
  • Tinta Caiada
  • Tinta Carvalha
  • Tinta Miúda
  • Tinto Cão
  • Touriga Franca
  • Touriga Nacional


  • Chardonnay
  • Chasselas
  • Chenin
  • Gewurztraminer
  • Riesling
  • Sauvignon
  • Semillon
  • Verdejo
  • Viognier


  • Alicante Bouschet
  • Aragonez
  • Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Caladoc
  • Carignan
  • Chambourcin
  • Cinsaut
  • Grand-Noir
  • Grenache
  • Merlot
  • Petit Verdot
  • Pinot Noir
  • Pinot-Gris
  • Sangiovese
  • Syrah
  • Tannat
  • Zinfandel